Neighborhood of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges


Monuments (within a 15-minute walk from the hotel)

Find the location of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges
on Paris 26 Gigapixels

Created with Autopano Giga and reproduced
with their kind permission. 

 

Sorbonne The hotel faces the Sorbonne, where the Universities of Paris IV, Paris III, Paris I, and the Ecole des Chartes are based. Along with Bologna, Oxford, and Montpellier, the Sorbonne is one of the oldiest Universities in Europe. It contains the tomb of Richelieu. 
The hotel was built on the slopes of the Sainte-Geneviève Mountain, formerly known as the Mount Lucotitius. Its skyline is dominated by one of the most famous Parisian monuments, the Panthéon. Louis XV laid the first stone of this church which was later dedicated to the Great Men of the Republic during the French Revolution in 1791: Voltaire, Mirabeau, Marat, and Rousseau were the first men buried in the Pantheon, who were later joined by Victor Hugo, Emile Zola, Jean Jaurès, and Jean Moulin. Panthéon
Saint-Etienne-du-Mont church On the Panthéon’s square at the end of Rue Cujas, the Church of Saint-Etienne-du-Mont is one of the most unique and charming churches of Paris. It was rebuilt between 1492 and 1622 on the site of a 13th century church. The church contains the shrine of Sainte Geneviève, patron saint of Paris, and the ashes of the writers Pascal and Racine.
In front of Saint-Etienne-du-Mont stands the Clovis Tower, the ancient church tower of the Sainte-Geneviève Abbey. Its foundation is Romanesque (XI century) and its two upper floors are Gothic (XV century). It is now part of the Lycée Henry IV, a highly prestigious Secondary School. The name of the tower commemorates the King of the Franks who was buried under what is now Rue Clovis (by the school gate).
Designed as a Florentine Palace, the Luxembourg Palace was built for Marie de Médicis, wife of King Henri IV. Rubens was asked to decorate the walls with paintings today housed in the Louvre. The Palace is now the home to the Senate. The Luxembourg Gardens constitute the biggest garden in Paris (62 acres). They are open to the public all year round. Luxembourg gardens
Luxembourg museum Right next to the Luxembourg Palace is the Musée du Luxembourg, which offers temporary exhibitions of Raphael, Veronese, Botticelli, Modigliani, Gauguin, Matisse, etc.
The Odeon Theater : the former "Théâtre-Français" is a beautiful neo-classical edifice surrounded by archways. The famous play by Beaumarchais, The Marriage of Figaro, was created here in 1784. Today it is one of the five national French theaters.
Odéon theater
Medieval museum The National Museum of the Middle Ages is considered to be the most beautiful example of medieval civilian architecture in Paris. It once was part of the Cluny Abbey Hôtel, build to house the abbots who used to teach at Cluny College (on the very site of what is now the Hôtel des 3 Collèges). The building we see today dates back to 1480 and holds the collections of the Museum of the Middle Ages, including the celebrated tapestry The Lady and the Unicorn. The entrance of the Museum leads to the Gallo-Roman baths, which is one of the most spectacular Gallic structures still found in Paris.
Saint-Sulpice Church is the biggest and most beautifully decorated Jesuit church of Paris. The first stone was laid in 1646. The northern tower was built in 1778-1780 but the southern tower was never completed, which explains its singular shape. Saint-Sulpice Square is two steps away from Saint-Germain-des-Prés by way of Rue Bonaparte. Saint-Sulpice church
Notre-Dame-de-Paris cathedral More than 170 years were needed to build the immense Notre-Dame cathedral, a splendour of gothic architecture. To visit it, simply walk down Rue Saint-Jacques and cross the Petit Pont, which is the shortest bridge in Paris (40 meters/44 yards). A bridge behind the cathedral leads to the delectable Island of Saint-Louis (île Saint-Louis).
The Sainte-Chapelle can be found further down Boulevard Saint-Michel on the Island of the City (Ile de la Cité). This magnificent sanctuary was built in 1248 by Saint Louis in order to house the relics of the Holy Cross and the Crown of Thorns. It features one of the best preserved collections of stained-glass windows of the Middle Ages. The Palais de Justice (Ministry of Justice), facing the Sainte-Chapelle, is located on the former site of the first palace of the kings of France (VI century) where Dagobert and Charlemagne lived.
Sainte-Chapelle

The Arènes de Lutèce (Arenas of Lutetia, Lutetia being the original Roman name of Paris) are one of the two remaining Gallo-Roman monuments still visible in Paris (the thermal baths of Cluny is the other). They were designed for the circus games and plays and could accomodate 15,000 spectators. Enter via Rue Navarre and Rue Monge.