History of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges


The poet Raoul Ponchon (1848-1937) spent the end of his life at the Hôtel des 3 Collèges (at the time known as the Hôtel de Flandre). Dubbed "our last Bacchic poet" by Apollinaire, Raoul Ponchon sang the praises of wine, flowers, and women, combining a sunny disposition and bonhomie with a refined poetic art. Verlaine wrote about him : "His conversation charms you by its witty eloquence… But most of all, he deserves to be read !" Raoul Ponchon is the author of La Muse au cabaret, La Muse gaillarde, and La Muse vagabonde.

Les Hommes d'Aujourd'hui : Raoul Ponchon, by Paul Verlaine

Blog Raoul Ponchon

Raoul Ponchon 
Arthur Rimbaud Arthur Rimbaud, who stayed in the neighboring building, describes the Hôtel des 3 Colleges' courtyard in a letter to Ernest Delahaye (June 1872) : "I have a pretty room, overlooking a bottomless courtyard, but 3 square meters wide. Rue Victor-Cousin is on the corner of the Sorbonne's square near the café du Bas-Rhin and leads to Rue Soufflot on the other end."
In the building opposite, the singer-poet Emile Goudeau (1849-1906) led the creation in 1878 of the Club des Hydropathes for lovers of both literature and good wine. Among the Club’s more notable members were Léon Bloy, François Coppée, Guy de Maupassant, Charles Cros, Jules Laforgue, and Alphonse Allais. Club des Hydropathes 
Miklós Radnóti A commemorative plaque by the hotel entrance celebrates the memory of Miklós Radnóti (1909-1944). A major Hungarian writer highly cherished by his fellow countrymen, this visionary poet belonged to the avant-gardist review Nyugat ("West") before winning the Baumgarten Prize in 1937. Radnóti loved France and stayed many times at the Hôtel des 3 Collèges during the 1930's. His love for French poetry led him to translate Rimbaud, Eluard, Mallarmé, Cendrars, and Apollinaire into Hungarian. Imprisoned in a camp in Yougoslavia during the war, he was tragically executed during a forced march imposed by the Nazis. He was 35 years old.

Link : in english 
Garcia Marquez

The Colombian writer Gabriel García Márquez wrote his famous novel No One Writes to the Colonel (El coronel no tiene quien le escriba) in the Hôtel des 3 Collèges. The novel, first published in 1961, tells of the wait by an old retired colonel for a letter announcing his eligibility for a pension for services rendered in a long-forgotten civil war. García Márquez is the author of One Hundred Years of Solitude, "perhaps the greatest revelation in the Spanish language since Don Quixote by Cervantès" (Pablo Neruda). He was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1982. By the hotel entrance, a commemorative plaque sculpted by Milthon pays homage to him.

Lire No One Writes to the Professor, par Marianne Ackerman

The Nigerian Wole Soyinka also stayed at the Hôtel des 3 Collèges. Born in 1934, he wrote the play A Dance of The Forests in 1960 to celebrate Nigeria's independance. Having taught in Nigeria, Ghana, England, and the United States, Wole Soyinka was the first African writer to receive the Nobel Prize in Literature, in 1986. His political activities brought him long periods of exile from and several prison terms in his country.

An "intellectual nomad" who lives in Brittany, Kenneth White is an habitué of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges. Born in Glasgow in 1936, he taught French literature before chairing the 20th century Poetry department at the Sorbonne. He was rewarded with the Prix Médicis Étranger, the Grand Prix Alfred de Vigny, and the Grand Prix du roman de l'Académie Française. Kenneth White invented the concept of the "geopoetic".

Kenneth White 
Michel Butor

Michel Butor photographed by Philippe Grollier at the Hôtel des 3 Collèges for Le Monde, march 2006.

Born in 1926, Michel Butor was one of the founders of the Nouveau Roman -the New Novel- a literary movement represented by Nathalie Sarraute, Alain Robbe-Grillet and Claude Simon. Since The Modification (1957), he established himself as one the foremost writers of his generation, exploring different genres of literature (novel, poetry, essay, criticism). Michel Butor lives in a village of Haute-Savoie.

Historique de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges


Le poète Raoul Ponchon (1848-1937) vécut la fin de sa vie à l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges, alors appelé Hôtel de Flandre. "Dernier de nos poètes bachiques" selon Apollinaire, Raoul Ponchon fut le chantre du vin, des fleurs et des femmes, joignant sa bonne humeur et sa bonhomie à un art poétique raffiné. Verlaine disait de lui : "Sa conversation est charmante de verve malicieuse comme il faut… Mais c'est surtout d'être lu qu'il mérite!". Il est l'auteur de La Muse au cabaret, La Muse gaillarde et de La Muse vagabonde.

Les Hommes d'Aujourd'hui : Raoul Ponchon, par Paul Verlaine

Blog Raoul Ponchon

Raoul Ponchon 
Arthur Rimbaud Arthur Rimbaud, qui séjourna dans l'immeuble voisin, décrit la cour intérieure de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges dans une lettre à Ernest Delahaye (juin 1872) : "J'ai une chambre jolie, sur une cour sans fond, mais de trois mètres carrés. La rue Victor-Cousin fait coin sur la place de la Sorbonne par le café du Bas-Rhin et donne dans la rue Soufflot, à l'autre extrémité." 
En 1878, à l'initiative du chansonnier-poète Emile Goudeau (1849-1906), fut créé dans l'immeuble faisant face à l'Hôtel le club des Hydropathes, amateurs de littérature et de bon vin. Il rassemblait notamment Léon Bloy, François Coppée, Guy de Maupassant, Charles Cros, Jules Laforgue et Alphonse Allais. Club des Hydropathes 
Miklós Radnóti Une plaque commémorative à l'entrée de l'Hôtel célèbre la mémoire de Miklós Radnóti (1909-1944). Ecrivain hongrois majeur, l'un des plus chers au cœur de ses compatriotes, ce poète visionnaire fut membre de la revue avant-gardiste Nyugat ("Occident") avant d'obtenir le prix Baumgarten en 1937. Francophile, Radnoti séjourna à l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges à la fin des années 1930. Son amour de la poésie française lui fit traduire en hongrois Rimbaud, Eluard, Mallarmé, Cendrars et Apollinaire. Prisonnier dans un camp en Yougoslavie pendant la guerre, il fut tragiquement exécuté lors d'une marche forcée imposée par les nazis. Il était âgé de 35 ans. 

Lien : en anglais 
Garcia Marquez

C'est à l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges que le Colombien Gabriel García Márquez écrivit son célèbre roman Pas de lettre pour le colonel (El coronel no tiene quien le escriba). Publié en 1961, il relate l'attente par un vieux colonel d'une lettre lui annonçant l'attribution d'une pension pour des services rendus lors d'une lointaine guerre civile. García Márquez est l'auteur de Cent ans de solitude, "la plus grande révélation de la langue espagnole depuis le Don Quichotte de Cervantès" (Pablo Neruda). Le prix Nobel de littérature lui a été attribué en 1982. A l'entrée de l'hôtel, une plaque commémorative sculptée par Milthon lui rend hommage.

Read No One Writes to the Professor, by Marianne Ackerman

Autre écrivain ayant séjourné à l'Hôtel : le Nigérian Wole Soyinka. Né en 1934, il écrivit La Danse de la forêt pour l'indépendance du Nigeria en 1960. Enseignant au Nigeria, au Ghana, en Grande-Bretagne et aux Etats-Unis, Wole Soyinka est le premier écrivain africain à recevoir le prix Nobel de littérature en 1986. Son activité politique lui a valu de longues périodes d'exil et plusieurs incarcérations dans son pays.
"Intellectuel nomade" installé en Bretagne, Kenneth White est un habitué de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges. Né à Glasgow en 1936, il a été enseignant de littérature française avant d'occuper la chaire de Poétique du XXe siècle de la Sorbonne. Son œuvre a été saluée par le Prix Médicis Étranger, le Grand Prix Alfred de Vigny et le Grand Prix de l’Académie Française. Kenneth White a inventé le concept de "géopoétique". Kenneth White 
Michel Butor Michel Butor photographié à l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges par Philippe Grollier pour le journal Le Monde, mars 2006.

Né en 1926, Michel Butor a été l'un des fondateurs du courant littéraire du Nouveau Roman (avec Nathalie Sarraute, Alain Robbe-Grillet et Claude Simon). Dès La Modification (1957), il s'est imposé comme l'un des plus grands écrivains de sa génération, expérimentant par la suite des formes nouvelles puisant à différents genres littéraires, romans, essais, poèmes ou critiques. Michel Butor habite la Haute-Savoie.