Neighborhood of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges


Monuments (within a 15-minute walk from the hotel)

Find the location of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges
on Paris 26 Gigapixels

Created with Autopano Giga and reproduced
with their kind permission. 

 

Sorbonne The hotel faces the Sorbonne, where the Universities of Paris IV, Paris III, Paris I, and the Ecole des Chartes are based. Along with Bologna, Oxford, and Montpellier, the Sorbonne is one of the oldiest Universities in Europe. It contains the tomb of Richelieu. 
The hotel was built on the slopes of the Sainte-Geneviève Mountain, formerly known as the Mount Lucotitius. Its skyline is dominated by one of the most famous Parisian monuments, the Panthéon. Louis XV laid the first stone of this church which was later dedicated to the Great Men of the Republic during the French Revolution in 1791: Voltaire, Mirabeau, Marat, and Rousseau were the first men buried in the Pantheon, who were later joined by Victor Hugo, Emile Zola, Jean Jaurès, and Jean Moulin. Panthéon
Saint-Etienne-du-Mont church On the Panthéon’s square at the end of Rue Cujas, the Church of Saint-Etienne-du-Mont is one of the most unique and charming churches of Paris. It was rebuilt between 1492 and 1622 on the site of a 13th century church. The church contains the shrine of Sainte Geneviève, patron saint of Paris, and the ashes of the writers Pascal and Racine.
In front of Saint-Etienne-du-Mont stands the Clovis Tower, the ancient church tower of the Sainte-Geneviève Abbey. Its foundation is Romanesque (XI century) and its two upper floors are Gothic (XV century). It is now part of the Lycée Henry IV, a highly prestigious Secondary School. The name of the tower commemorates the King of the Franks who was buried under what is now Rue Clovis (by the school gate).
Designed as a Florentine Palace, the Luxembourg Palace was built for Marie de Médicis, wife of King Henri IV. Rubens was asked to decorate the walls with paintings today housed in the Louvre. The Palace is now the home to the Senate. The Luxembourg Gardens constitute the biggest garden in Paris (62 acres). They are open to the public all year round. Luxembourg gardens
Luxembourg museum Right next to the Luxembourg Palace is the Musée du Luxembourg, which offers temporary exhibitions of Raphael, Veronese, Botticelli, Modigliani, Gauguin, Matisse, etc.
The Odeon Theater : the former "Théâtre-Français" is a beautiful neo-classical edifice surrounded by archways. The famous play by Beaumarchais, The Marriage of Figaro, was created here in 1784. Today it is one of the five national French theaters.
Odéon theater
Medieval museum The National Museum of the Middle Ages is considered to be the most beautiful example of medieval civilian architecture in Paris. It once was part of the Cluny Abbey Hôtel, build to house the abbots who used to teach at Cluny College (on the very site of what is now the Hôtel des 3 Collèges). The building we see today dates back to 1480 and holds the collections of the Museum of the Middle Ages, including the celebrated tapestry The Lady and the Unicorn. The entrance of the Museum leads to the Gallo-Roman baths, which is one of the most spectacular Gallic structures still found in Paris.
Saint-Sulpice Church is the biggest and most beautifully decorated Jesuit church of Paris. The first stone was laid in 1646. The northern tower was built in 1778-1780 but the southern tower was never completed, which explains its singular shape. Saint-Sulpice Square is two steps away from Saint-Germain-des-Prés by way of Rue Bonaparte. Saint-Sulpice church
Notre-Dame-de-Paris cathedral More than 170 years were needed to build the immense Notre-Dame cathedral, a splendour of gothic architecture. To visit it, simply walk down Rue Saint-Jacques and cross the Petit Pont, which is the shortest bridge in Paris (40 meters/44 yards). A bridge behind the cathedral leads to the delectable Island of Saint-Louis (île Saint-Louis).
The Sainte-Chapelle can be found further down Boulevard Saint-Michel on the Island of the City (Ile de la Cité). This magnificent sanctuary was built in 1248 by Saint Louis in order to house the relics of the Holy Cross and the Crown of Thorns. It features one of the best preserved collections of stained-glass windows of the Middle Ages. The Palais de Justice (Ministry of Justice), facing the Sainte-Chapelle, is located on the former site of the first palace of the kings of France (VI century) where Dagobert and Charlemagne lived.
Sainte-Chapelle

The Arènes de Lutèce (Arenas of Lutetia, Lutetia being the original Roman name of Paris) are one of the two remaining Gallo-Roman monuments still visible in Paris (the thermal baths of Cluny is the other). They were designed for the circus games and plays and could accomodate 15,000 spectators. Enter via Rue Navarre and Rue Monge.

Le quartier de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges


Les monuments (accessibles en moins d'un quart d'heure à pied)

Retrouvez l'emplacement de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges
sur le site Paris 26 Gigapixels.

Créé avec le logiciel Autopano Giga et reproduit
avec leur aimable autorisation. 

 

Sorbonne En face de l'Hôtel : la Sorbonne. Aujourd'hui le siège des Universités Paris IV, Paris III et Paris I ainsi que de l'Ecole des Chartes, la Sorbonne est, avec Bologne, Oxford et Montpellier, l'une des plus vieilles universités d'Europe. Elle abrite le tombeau de Richelieu. 
L'Hôtel est construit sur les pentes de la montagne Sainte-Geneviève, qui s'appelait autrefois le mont Lucotitius. Elle est aujourd'hui dominée par l'un des plus célèbres monuments de Paris, le Panthéon. Louis XV posa la première pierre de cette église que la Révolution dédia, en 1791, au culte républicain des Grands Hommes : Voltaire, Mirabeau, Marat et Rousseau furent les premiers hôtes du Panthéon, rejoints notamment par Victor Hugo, Emile Zola, Jean Jaurès et Jean Moulin. Panthéon
Eglise Saint-Etienne-du-Mont Au bout de la rue Cujas, sur la place du Panthéon, se trouve l'église Saint-Etienne-du-Mont, l'une des plus originales et des plus charmantes églises de Paris. Reconstruite entre 1492 et 1622 sur l'emplacement d'une ancienne église qui datait du XIIIe siècle, elle abrite la châsse de sainte Geneviève, patronne de Paris, et conserve les cendres des écrivains Pascal et Racine.
En face de l'église se trouve la Tour Clovis, l'ancien clocher de l'abbaye de Sainte-Geneviève. Sa base est romane (XIe siècle) et ses deux étages gothiques (XVe siècle). Elle a été intégrée à l'architecture du Lycée Henri IV. Son nom commémore la mémoire du roi des Francs qui fut enterré sous l'actuelle rue Clovis (à la hauteur de la porte du Lycée).
Le palais du Luxembourg, ancien palais royal aux réminiscences florentines, est l'œuvre de la reine Marie de Médicis, épouse de Henri IV. Elle fit appel à Rubens pour décorer les murs, peintures que l'on peut voir au Musée du Louvre. Le palais abrite aujourd'hui le Sénat. Les jardins du Luxembourg, ouverts toute l'année au public, sont les plus grands de la capitale (25 ha). Jardins du Luxembourg
Musée du Luxembourg A proximité immédiate du palais du Luxembourg, le Musée du Luxembourg présente des expositions temporaires : Raphaël, Véronèse, Botticelli, Modigliani, Gauguin, Matisse... 
Le Théâtre de l'Odéon - Théâtre de l'Europe : l'ancien Théâtre-Français est un bel édifice néo-classique entouré d'arcades. C'est là que fut créé Le Mariage de Figaro de Beaumarchais en 1784. Il est aujourd'hui l'un des cinq théâtres nationaux français. Théâtre de l'Odéon
Musée national du Moyen Âge Le Musée national du Moyen Âge est considéré comme le plus beau monument d'architecture civile médiévale de Paris. Il se trouve dans l'hôtel de Cluny, construit pour héberger les abbés qui enseignaient au collège de Cluny (à l'emplacement de l'Hôtel des 3 collèges). Le bâtiment que nous voyons aujourd'hui date des années 1480. Il abrite les collections du Musée national du Moyen Âge (dont la célèbre tapisserie de la Dame à la Licorne). L'entrée permet de visiter aussi les thermes de Lutèce, l'un des plus beaux édifices gallo-romains de Paris.
L'église Saint-Sulpice est la plus vaste et la mieux décorée des églises jésuites de Paris. La première pierre fut posée en 1646. La tour nord fut construite en 1778-1780, mais celle du sud ne fut jamais terminée, ce qui fait la spécificité singulière de sa silhouette. La place Saint-Sulpice est à deux pas de Saint-Germain-des-Prés, en empruntant la rue Bonaparte. Eglise Saint-Sulpice
Cathédrale Notre-Dame-de-Paris Plus de 170 ans furent nécessaires à la construction de l'immense cathédrale Notre-Dame, splendeur de l'architecture gothique. Pour la visiter, il n'est qu'à descendre la rue Saint-Jacques et traverser le Petit Pont, le plus court de Paris (40 m). Juste derrière la Cathédrale, un autre pont mène à la délicieuse île Saint-Louis.
La Sainte-Chapelle se trouve dans le prolongement du boulevard Saint-Michel, sur l'île de la Cité. Cet admirable sanctuaire, dont les vitraux forment un des ensembles les plus complets du Moyen Age, fut édifié en 1248 par saint Louis pour abriter les reliques du Bois de la Croix et de la Couronne d'épines du Christ. Le palais de Justice, devant la Sainte-Chapelle, est à l'emplacement du premier palais des rois de France (VIe siècle), qui hébergea Dagobert et Charlemagne. Sainte-Chapelle

Enfin, les Arènes de Lutèce sont, après les thermes de Cluny, le seul monument gallo-romain encore visible à Paris. Dédiées aux jeux du cirque et aux représentations théâtrales, elles pouvaient accueillir 15 000 spectateurs. Entrées rue de Navarre et rue Monge.