Visit of the Hôtel des 3 Collèges


  • The Truschet and Hoyau map of Paris
    Well-known because of the exemplary copy preserved in Bâle, this map was drawn by Germain Hoyau, engraved by Olivier Truschet, and embellished by hand with flat layers of color. Like Saint-Victor's map, it depicts Paris around 1550 from a bird's-eye view. In the center of the image : the Sorbonne, which was also called Calvi College and the Cluny College (written "Clugni"), on the site of what is now the Hôtel des 3 Collèges.
  • The Saint-Victor's map of Paris
    This map, which was in the past preserved at the Abbey of Saint-Victor (the current site of the University of Jussieu), shows Paris circa 1550. This bird's-eye view places the west at the bottom of the page, so that the façade of Notre-Dame Cathedral is placed in front of the viewer.

  • The Braun map of Paris
    While created later than the previous maps (in 1572), this map nevertheless represents Paris around 1530. Georg Braun, then Canon of the Cologne Cathedral, wrote a scroll at the foot of the map describing a town "abundant with food and drink / rich with gorgeous fields and flowing rivers". The drawing was made by Simon Van der Novel.

  • The Belleforest map of Paris
    The work of an engraver known as Cruche, this map was ordered by the scholar François de Belleforest for a cosmography study published in Paris in 1575. Again representing Paris around 1550, it is a copy of Saint-Victor's map but includes several new elements such as the rampart of the Bastille, Tuileries Palace, and the new Hôtel de Ville.

  • The Delagrive map of Paris
    Printed in 1728
    , this map was made by the philosopher and cartographer Jean Delagrive (1689-1757). Appointed "Geographer in ordinary to the City," Abbot Delagrive made the first geometrical map showing parcels of Paris, marrying exactness of drawing and precision of detail. We can see here the many colleges in the area around Sainte-Genevieve, where the Hôtel des 3 Collèges' structure can be easily identified ("Religieux de Cluni").

  • The Turgot map of Paris
    Michel Etienne Turgot
    (1690-1751), "provost of the merchants of Paris," ordered this large map of the city in 1734. It shows a new axonometrical perspective in order to "satisfy the curiosity of the King's subjects and of foreigners". It was published in 1739 by the draughtsman Louis Bretez and the engraver Claude Lucas. The Turgot map, contemporary with the Delagrive map, offers a spectacular view of Paris during the first half of the XVIII century. The Hôtel des 3 Collèges has been placed in the center of the image (the building with the arcade topped by a turret).

Visite de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges


Nos salons présentent une collection unique des premiers plans de Paris :

  • Plan de Bâle
    Connu pour son exemplaire conservé à Bâle, ce plan a été dessiné par Germain Hoyau, gravé par Olivier Truschet et rehaussé à la main par des aplats de couleurs. Comme le plan de Saint-Victor, il représente Paris vers 1550 en vue cavalière. Au centre de l'image : la Sorbonne, qui s'appelait aussi Collège de Calvi, et le Collège de Cluny (orthographié "Clugni") à l'emplacement de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges.
     
  • Plan de Saint-Victor
    Ce plan, autrefois conservé dans l'abbaye de Saint-Victor (à l'emplacement de l'actuelle Université de Jussieu), représente Paris vers 1550. Cette vue à vol d'oiseau (vue cavalière) situe l'Ouest en bas de la carte, de telle sorte que la façade de la cathédrale Notre-Dame se trouve face au spectateur.

  • Plan de Braun
    Plus tardif que les deux précédents (1572), ce plan représente néanmoins Paris vers 1530. Georg Braun, chanoine de la cathédrale de Cologne, est l'auteur d'un cartouche en bas de la carte décrivant la ville comme "très abondante en vivres et breuvages/ riche en beaux champs et fluvieux rivages". Le dessin est de Simon Van der Novel.

  • Plan de Belleforest
    Œuvre du graveur Cruche, ce plan est la commande d'un écrivain et compilateur, François de Belleforest, pour une cosmographie publiée à Paris en 1575. Représentant toujours Paris vers 1550, c'est une copie du plan de Saint-Victor. Le plan inclut cependant quelques éléments nouveaux comme le rempart de la Bastille, le palais des Tuileries et le nouvel Hôtel de Ville.
     
  • Plan de Delagrive
    Ce plan paru en 1728 est l'œuvre d'un philosophe et cartographe, Jean Delagrive (1689-1757). Nommé "géographe ordinaire de la ville", l'abbé Delagrive a élaboré le premier plan géométrique parcellaire de Paris, alliant l'exactitude du rendu à la précision des détails. Nous voyons ici le quartier de Sainte-Geneviève et ses très nombreux collèges, où l'immeuble de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges est clairement identifiable à l'emplacement des "Religieux de Cluni".
     
  • Plan de Turgot
    Michel-Etienne Turgot (1690-1751), prévôt des marchands de Paris, commanda en 1734 un vaste plan de Paris selon une perspective axonométrique nouvelle afin de "satisfaire la curiosité des sujets du Roi et des étrangers". Il s'adressa au dessinateur Louis Bretez et au graveur Claude Lucas, qui le publièrent en 1739. Le plan de Turgot, contemporain de celui de l'abbé Delagrive, propose une vue spectaculaire du Paris de la première moitié du XVIIIe siècle. L'emplacement de l'Hôtel des 3 Collèges est au centre de l'image (l'immeuble à arcades surmonté d'une tourelle).